F.O.T.M. { Organic Blackberries + Vanilla Beans + Rosemary }

F.O.T.M. = Flavor Of The Month. I am calling it F.O.T.M. (pronounced fo-tum) because it is way more fun and easy to say than the drawn out F–L–A–V–O–R   O–F   T–H–E….you get the point.

So F.O.T.M. it is.

We start Thursday Night Farmer’s Market in Downtown San Luis Obispo next Thursday night. Woohoo! (Everyone is as excited as we are…right?!?)! To celebrate we wanted to do something special, so we have decided on making a new, special flavor with in-season ingredients for each month. The F.O.T.M. will only be available at the Farmer’s Market or online (oh yes, we are launching online sales sooooooon…..!). That flavor will only be available through us and will only be available for one month…like I said, it’s special! And once it’s gone, it’s gone.

So yesterday I created the July F.O.T.M.

I was given the most delicious, sweet, and tangy organic blackberries earlier this week from a local berry farmer; this is where my inspiration began. I knew I wanted the tang of the blackberries to pair with the sweet creaminess of vanilla beans. Blackberry Vanilla Bean. And it was good. But I wanted something more interesting. Another layer of flavor, something that would give it more depth. (It had to be perfect…it is the first F.O.T.M.!!!). I was thinking about adding lavender. But I realized I didn’t have any lavender. Dang. So I went outside the creamery and saw my rosemary plant (one of the FEW things that are surviving in my garden…). And the first F.O.T.M. was born.

Lets just say WOW.

{ Organic Blackberry + Vanilla Beans + Rosemary }

And not only does it taste A-MA-ZING, it’s really beautiful. Dark purple berries, vanilla bean and berry seeds. Nice.

What I love most about this flavor is it’s complexity. When you take your first bite you immediately get the sweet vanilla. Then you get the tangy berries. And lastly you get the hint of the herby rosemary.

I may or may not have eaten half a pint of this while writing this post. And I may or may not have more of it after dinner. Or before dinner. Or for breakfast tomorrow morning. Or on top of a rosemary shortbread cookie. It’s called quality assurance people…so it’s my job?

I could really get used to this F.O.T.M. thing….

Alexis

6 thoughts on “F.O.T.M. { Organic Blackberries + Vanilla Beans + Rosemary }

  1. Kidicall Mass bike ride to Farmer’s this Thursday with a pack of three year olds. First stop: Negranti Creamery!

  2. Dang, it is August, so I missed it! Oh, well I bought the plain vanilla tonight at New Frontiers and I will just have to wait until you do combine something with lavender. What is August’s flavor? Tomorrow’s Thursday…guess I will have to go to the Farmer’s Market to see.

Leave a Reply

