{salted} Five Egg Brownies

We have 15 laying hens. 15 Hens + 1 egg each = a heck of a lot of eggs each day. I have been forced to get clever with our egg consumption. Hard boiled eggs for snacks and salads, egg sandwiches, fritatas and quiches.

And because fifteen eggs a day isn’t enough, I bought four chicks the other day. My explanation on buying more chickens to Wade: they’re Araucanas honey! what? It’s the breed that lays green and blue eggs …I don’t have any Araucanas. I need blue eggs! I HAD to buy blue egg laying chicks… Wade had no response.

Aren’t they cute?

Back to the eggs. Here is a recipe for brownies. By making these I hoped to redeem myself and prove to Wade there are tasty ways to use eggs other than omelets and boiled eggs. I think my strategy may have worked…

These brownies are moist, tasty and above all use a whopping FIVE eggs!  Try these. You won’t regret it. And I serve mine with our Vanilla Bean ice cream. Is there anything better than warm brownies and ice cream? Oh, and the salt on top makes these like, the best dessert ever!

Please note: while melting the butter and chocolate in a saucepan, do not attempt to multitask and feed your dogs. The mixture will burn and you will have to start all over again. This is only hypothetically speaking of course.

{salted} Five Egg Brownies

Ingredients:

1 3/4 sticks butter (salted)

8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 c sugar

5 eggs

1 t vanilla extract

1 c flour

1/2 c cocoa powder

1 T instant coffee crystals (optional but recommended)

1/4 t sea salt (plus more for sprinkling on top)

Make It:

Preheat oven to 350

Line a 13 x 9 inch pan with parchment paper (make sure paper goes up all four sides).

Melt chocolate chips and butter on med-low heat in a saucepan. Don’t walk away- it will burn! Once mixture is melted and smooth, set aside and let cool for a few minuets until it reaches room temperature.

Once at room temperature mix sugar and vanilla into chocolate mixture. Whisk in eggs (one at a time) and mix well after each egg. Now add in the flour, cocoa and salt (and coffee crystals, if using). Whisk until smooth.

Bake for 25-30 min. They are done when middle doesn’t jiggle (technical I know). When you pull them out of the oven (still hot) sprinkle with a pinch or two of sea salt. Let cool and enjoy!

Click brownies for a printable version.

One thought on “{salted} Five Egg Brownies

  1. Beautiful! It sounds delicious! My first response was, ‘ooh, I wish I had fifteen eggs coming at me each day,’ but I imagine at some point, I’d be giving away eggs in the parking lot at school because I can’t use them all. The grass is always greener, right?

Leave a Reply

